The City of St. Augustine, the nation’s oldest permanently occupied European settlement, was founded by the Spanish in 1565.The St. George Inn is immersed in the area’s history, located next to the City Gate, The Oldest Wooden School House and across from the Castillo de San Marcos. The Castillo was built of coquina by the Spanish in 1672, and anchors the city’s north end of the bayfront.
St. Augustine is home to some of the oldest original structures and sites in the United States including The Oldest House(1704), The Oldest Wooden Schoolhouse (1804), The Oldest Store Museum (1840) and the Old Jail (1891).
The heart of the historic district can be found in the 4 block pedestrian-only main thoroughfare called St. George Street. St.George Street is lined by 18th-century Spanish Colonial houses that are now historic landmarks, and dotted with boutiques laden with arts and antiques. Within this area lies the Spanish Quarter, a living history museum featuring settlers clad in 1740s-stylebritches and bonnets busy blacksmithing, spinning and woodworking and soldiers who tell of life long ago.
For more history of St. Augustine please visit